AHS Teen of the Week: Jaclyn Freeberg


Teen of the Week

Name: Jaclyn Freeberg

Year in school: Junior

Favorite class in school and why: Choral or Writing Process:  Choral because I love singing and my choral director, Jan Weisenbeck, is an amazing woman; writing process because it gives me a chance to express myself and my teacher, Kathleen Cavanaugh, is inspirational.

Favorite teacher and why: The number of amazing teachers at Assumption are far too numerous to pick only one. Some of my personal favorites, though, are Kathleen Cavanaugh, Jan Weisenbeck, Paul Klinkhammer, and Father Jim Altman. These teachers do so much for me and are an inspiration through faith and knowledge, wisdom, patience, even how they build relationships with their students.

Extra curricular activities: Drama Club, vocal lessons at UWSP, dance lessons at the Acedemie de la Danse, Sing for Pointers basketball games (men and women), tennis, dance team, Model UN, volunteering, work at Bev’s Floral and Gifts, Sing for basketball tournaments, sing for ice fishing tournament, attend rotary whenever possible, pep club, key club, World Youth Day Organization, Solo and Ensemble, Shadow Stations,

Volunteering: Key club throughout the year, clean for elderly, walking dogs at the humane society, usher at church, sing in my church, volunteered at Vacation Bible School, Day of Caring, Sing National anthem for sporting events in both Stevens Point and Wisconsin Rapids, Shadow Stations, help at the Neighborhood Table.

What you like to do on your free time: I greatly enjoy singing (!), going to the Ground Up with my friends, spending quality time with my family and my grandparents, writing poetry and short stories, listening to music reading, and finding new adventures

Book or movie you would recommend and why: I would recommend the movie North and South. BBC produced this based on the book by Elizabeth Gaskel, and it is very artfully yet tastefully done. The movie has aspects that anyone would enjoy.

Favorite band/music: I enjoy all kinds of music, but classical and jazz are some of my favorites. I really like Nora Jones and Brahms.

Plans for the future: Someday I would like to go to New England to study music performance, and singing. I would love to reach people with music.

Biggest influences in your life: My biggest influences would be Justin Spenner, my vocal coach, Jan Weisenbeck, and my parents. They all sacrifice so much for me and are never anything but supportive.

One thing you wish someone had told you about high school: To have a friend, you have to be a friend.

One thing about you that might surprise people: I am a black belt and grasshoppers are my biggest fear

2 Responses to “AHS Teen of the Week: Jaclyn Freeberg”

  1. Gram & Gramps Says:

    Hi Sweetie; We sure enjoyed your comments. It was so good to know more about you & what you like in school. Were very proud of you & always will be. Keep up the great work, your a beauitful person & we love you very much. Have a great day & we love you very much. Love; Grandpa & Grandma.

  2. Mom Says:

    Wow Jackie, I am so proud of the amazing young lady you are. You make every day a little Sunnier! 🙂

Leave a comment